IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tutorial: Changing Mordor 2 Graphics of Monsters, ...and Items
Braindead
post Feb 18 2005, 06:29 PM
Post #1


Zombie Master
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,807
Joined: 24-September 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 1
referrer:;)



Notice
This does not apply to Mordor 1, only to Mordor 2 (and up)

Requirements
- Installed version of Mordor 2 (any version)
- 32 bit Resource Editor

Free 32 bit Resource Editors:
Resource Hacker
PE Resource Explorer
TGTSoft Resource Editor

You can pick any of the above resource editors, use the one you like best.
If you need advanced editing features then I recommend to use PE Explorer as it supports lots of picture-types and allows in place editing.

Replacing A Monster Picture with Resource Hacker

1. Start Resource Hacker
2. Open Mgraph32.dll file
- File -> Open...
- Browse to the Mordor II Data Directory and select Mgraph32.dll
- Click "Open"
3. Existing Monster pictures are found under the folder BitMap in the subfolders 500 till 597
4. Browse to the picture that you wish to change
5. In the menu Action choose Replace Bitmap...
6. Click on the button Open File with new bitmap...
7. Choose the bmp file of the new monster picture.
8. Click Replace
9. Choose File -> Save to save the dll file.

Replacing A Monster Picture with PE Explorer
1. Start PE Resource Explorer
2. Choose File -> Open
3. At the bottom of the screen choose Files Of Type: Library Files (*.dll, *.bpl)
4. Browse to Mordor II Data Directory and select Mgraph32.dll
5. Browse to the image you wish to change
6. Choose Import Image Resource in the menu Resource
7. Choose File -> Save to save the dll file.

Replacing A Monster Picture with TGTSoft Resource Explorer
1. Start TGTSoft Resource Explorer
2. Choose File -> Open
3. Browse to the Mordor II Data Directory and open Mgraph32.dll
4. Choose the image you wish to change and click on Replace... in the button bar
5. Choose File -> Save to save the dll file

Replacing Item Pictures
This is similar to replacing Monster Pictures but Item Pictures are found in the range between 1000 and 1078.

I haven't tried yet to add new pictures but possibly this might also be possible as long as you stay in the range of the type. (500 till 599 for monster pics, 1000 till 1099 for Item Pics)

Have fun Modding tongue.gif


--------------------
Do not PM me for support, if you have troubles running Mordor ask in the Technical Support forum!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kevin062571
post Feb 22 2005, 10:09 PM
Post #2


Student
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 1-February 05
Member No.: 112
referrer:Decklin's Message Board



OK...Thanks! I got the pictures to work. Now how do I make new monsters and associate a new picture with them? How does it know which picture (file) to use? crazy.gif

It looks like v0.98 has monster pics from 500 - 597, but v0.992 has monster pics from 500 - 614. So maybe the monster pics are from 500 - 999.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Braindead
post Feb 23 2005, 08:02 AM
Post #3


Zombie Master
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,807
Joined: 24-September 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 1
referrer:;)



I think you should be able tp set the reference in the MicroFx Editor (just subtract 500, so 590 would be 90 as monster id)


--------------------
Do not PM me for support, if you have troubles running Mordor ask in the Technical Support forum!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kevin062571
post Feb 25 2005, 04:26 PM
Post #4


Student
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 1-February 05
Member No.: 112
referrer:Decklin's Message Board



I don't see where you can set the Monster ID in the MicroFX editor.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aardless
post Feb 26 2005, 08:28 PM
Post #5


Goblin Shaman at work (used to be: on strike...)
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 5,406
Joined: 27-September 04
From: Somewhere on level 3, staring at the light
Member No.: 18
referrer::yahoo:



Uhm, you're right neither version 1.8 nor 2.06 can adjust it. I don't know if there are other editors for M2 around. Otherwise I only see hex editing to achieve that. swoon2.gif


--------------------
If money doesn't grow on trees, why is it that banks have branches? - sig of a guy on a chinese forum

Most off-topic topics are off-topic - fart642000
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SerpenTRyder
post Mar 17 2007, 01:24 AM
Post #6


Drifter
**

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 1-February 07
From: Bosnia&Herzegovina
Member No.: 2,998
referrer:google



umm...i think that you have a broken links for these editors...(sigh)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aardless
post Mar 17 2007, 04:45 PM
Post #7


Goblin Shaman at work (used to be: on strike...)
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 5,406
Joined: 27-September 04
From: Somewhere on level 3, staring at the light
Member No.: 18
referrer::yahoo:



Hmm, you're right, but the first one is available from here. You'll notice the author states that you need written permission to web-host the file.
PE Resource Explorer now costs a mere 129$. Any takers?
The last editor, TGTSoft ResEdit, is available for free here


--------------------
If money doesn't grow on trees, why is it that banks have branches? - sig of a guy on a chinese forum

Most off-topic topics are off-topic - fart642000
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th September 2019 - 07:04 PM
Bridged By IpbWiki: Integration Of Invision Power Board and MediaWiki © GlobalSoft
Copyrights and Credits