IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Illegal Function Call (vista)
rb10c
post Feb 7 2011, 07:45 PM
Post #41


Infiltrator
****

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 335
Joined: 8-October 07
From: London
Member No.: 3,954
referrer:i'm a DIEHARD FAN!!



If you only have intentions of playing M1, go for windows 95. I have incredibly low connection speed (on a good day, 3MB bad, 20kb).
The hard part is installing mordor on a VHD. VPC7 is straightforward, but others i found are very hard.


--------------------
http://macjams.com/artist/rb10c - my music site!
mordor, my favourite game EVER!!

QUOTE (rb10c @ Feb 14 2011, 03:22 PM) *
Darn, I went off-topic on an off-topic topic. Who's going to go off topic on this off topic, off topic topic?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thermopyle
post Feb 7 2011, 07:50 PM
Post #42


Vagabond
**

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 80
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 6,522
referrer:google



Hm. Turning UAC off did the trick for me in Vista 32bit, but I didn't play it very long at the time. Not sure why you're having issues if you've got that done, sorry. sad.gif Too bad you don't have 7, you could download XP mode, which is what I'm using now. It works quite well. I think it was only 100-200 megs to download. May be wrong, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rb10c
post Feb 7 2011, 08:00 PM
Post #43


Infiltrator
****

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 335
Joined: 8-October 07
From: London
Member No.: 3,954
referrer:i'm a DIEHARD FAN!!



On a slow bandwidth, 200 MB is huge. Not to mention when your internet cuts, and you have to start again.


--------------------
http://macjams.com/artist/rb10c - my music site!
mordor, my favourite game EVER!!

QUOTE (rb10c @ Feb 14 2011, 03:22 PM) *
Darn, I went off-topic on an off-topic topic. Who's going to go off topic on this off topic, off topic topic?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
thermopyle
post Feb 8 2011, 01:02 AM
Post #44


Vagabond
**

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 80
Joined: 2-January 11
Member No.: 6,522
referrer:google



QUOTE (rb10c @ Feb 7 2011, 02:00 PM) *
On a slow bandwidth, 200 MB is huge. Not to mention when your internet cuts, and you have to start again.


Trust me, I used to download much bigger files than that on 56k. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Danjen
post Feb 8 2011, 03:43 AM
Post #45


Veteran
********

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 1,467
Joined: 25-May 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,498
referrer:Decklin's Domain



I can torrent the windows versions no problems, it's just that my IP (Bell) only assigns us 500mb a month, and gouges like you wouldn't believe for it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Danjen
post Feb 8 2011, 03:45 AM
Post #46


Veteran
********

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 1,467
Joined: 25-May 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,498
referrer:Decklin's Domain



Also, I can probably just get a tower with Win98 installed, but we'll see what happens. I'll keep raging at DA for not making his game compatible with computers that came out a decade after he wrote his game. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rb10c
post Feb 8 2011, 02:00 PM
Post #47


Infiltrator
****

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 335
Joined: 8-October 07
From: London
Member No.: 3,954
referrer:i'm a DIEHARD FAN!!



Poor foresight!

It's easier to blame the little underdog as opposed to the mighty corporation!

It's a shame, though.


--------------------
http://macjams.com/artist/rb10c - my music site!
mordor, my favourite game EVER!!

QUOTE (rb10c @ Feb 14 2011, 03:22 PM) *
Darn, I went off-topic on an off-topic topic. Who's going to go off topic on this off topic, off topic topic?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Danjen
post Feb 10 2011, 04:01 AM
Post #48


Veteran
********

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 1,467
Joined: 25-May 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,498
referrer:Decklin's Domain



Might be an interesting tidbit for posterity:

It appears that 32-bit systems use a program call wowexec.exe and ntvdm.exe to run older 16 bit applications, like a miniature virtual box. It takes like 8 mb of ram or so, and the applications all branch from ntvdm. From some brief research, it appears to execute the first time a 16 bit program is run, and will linger around until you terminate it manually or power off the system. Originally I though it might be linked with the crashing (as it appears to emulate older systems), but this doesn't seem to be the case. A full reboot seems to let M be stable for some time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Danjen
post Feb 10 2011, 07:16 AM
Post #49


Veteran
********

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 1,467
Joined: 25-May 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,498
referrer:Decklin's Domain



And after a bit of experimenting, I think I know how to avoid crashes - mostly. It seems that if I go into the task manager and put the aforementioned ntvdm.exe to highest system priority, it'll eat up 80% processor (on an 8 mb app, no less), but it seems much more stable. Furthermore, if I DON'T move, resize or use hotkeys other than buffers, it seems to be stable as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rb10c
post Feb 10 2011, 07:30 AM
Post #50


Infiltrator
****

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 335
Joined: 8-October 07
From: London
Member No.: 3,954
referrer:i'm a DIEHARD FAN!!



That sounds alright.

Now, all you have to fear, is the questmaster, complications, and crashing! laugh.gif

Edit; wow, 500 mb a month. you can get 500 mb a day, here in england! I can't even stay within the 5 GB we should have... saying that, my music and schoolwork takes up a bit.

This post has been edited by rb10c: Feb 10 2011, 07:36 AM


--------------------
http://macjams.com/artist/rb10c - my music site!
mordor, my favourite game EVER!!

QUOTE (rb10c @ Feb 14 2011, 03:22 PM) *
Darn, I went off-topic on an off-topic topic. Who's going to go off topic on this off topic, off topic topic?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Danjen
post Feb 10 2011, 07:54 AM
Post #51


Veteran
********

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 1,467
Joined: 25-May 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,498
referrer:Decklin's Domain



Bandwidth is because I'm in a rural area, have to use a usb stick with DSL.

Actually, if it crashes as I enter the dungeon, I have to do ALL the things in town again - sometimes I get lucky and end up rerolling more HP on level up, sometimes less. And, sometimes I get very few quests! tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Danjen
post Feb 10 2011, 06:02 PM
Post #52


Veteran
********

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 1,467
Joined: 25-May 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,498
referrer:Decklin's Domain



Derp, nevermind, I'm no better off. It still sometimes crashes 7-10 times before I can get into the game.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rb10c
post Feb 10 2011, 06:20 PM
Post #53


Infiltrator
****

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 335
Joined: 8-October 07
From: London
Member No.: 3,954
referrer:i'm a DIEHARD FAN!!



Yeah. Just buy the cheapest block-of-a-computer, and use that.

Emulation/virtualisation works perfectly, every time. It can frustrate users setting it up though. Far too tedious.


--------------------
http://macjams.com/artist/rb10c - my music site!
mordor, my favourite game EVER!!

QUOTE (rb10c @ Feb 14 2011, 03:22 PM) *
Darn, I went off-topic on an off-topic topic. Who's going to go off topic on this off topic, off topic topic?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th November 2019 - 11:44 PM
Bridged By IpbWiki: Integration Of Invision Power Board and MediaWiki © GlobalSoft
Copyrights and Credits