IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mordor II v.0.98 - full 15 floors patch
Danjen
post May 25 2010, 04:32 PM
Post #41


Veteran
********

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 1,467
Joined: 25-May 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,498
referrer:Decklin's Domain



Just call it 0.98b; the data is from newer versions, yes, but it is based off the executable, I would think.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grobblewobble
post May 26 2010, 09:21 PM
Post #42


Dungeon Master
******

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 890
Joined: 22-February 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 134
referrer:Slimey's site



QUOTE (devi77 @ May 24 2010, 09:00 AM) *
Now about teleporters and chutes: Give me a full maps of levels from 6 to 15 and I will correct teleporters and chutes


I fixed level 6 and I'm now working on level 7.


--------------------
Fear the Society of the Psychic Tyco
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aardless
post May 29 2010, 06:29 AM
Post #43


Goblin Shaman at work (used to be: on strike...)
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 5,406
Joined: 27-September 04
From: Somewhere on level 3, staring at the light
Member No.: 18
referrer::yahoo:



We have about 10 levels from the Avatar project lying around, they're all monster-less 30*30 maps, IIRC, but if you think you can stitch them with the existing M1 maps I might find the time to make a dungeon and dig them up.
I'd advise against calling it with the same numbering method DA employed since this is an unofficial mod and would just confuse newbies down the line. I'm sure you find a cool name for this excellent project of yours. smile.gif


--------------------
If money doesn't grow on trees, why is it that banks have branches? - sig of a guy on a chinese forum

Most off-topic topics are off-topic - fart642000
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grobblewobble
post May 30 2010, 11:33 AM
Post #44


Dungeon Master
******

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 890
Joined: 22-February 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 134
referrer:Slimey's site



If its ok to reuse those maps and youd have the time to dig them up, that would be great.


--------------------
Fear the Society of the Psychic Tyco
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grobblewobble
post Jun 2 2010, 10:45 AM
Post #45


Dungeon Master
******

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 890
Joined: 22-February 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 134
referrer:Slimey's site



QUOTE (aardless @ May 29 2010, 08:29 AM) *
I'd advise against calling it with the same numbering method DA employed since this is an unofficial mod and would just confuse newbies down the line. I'm sure you find a cool name for this excellent project of yours. smile.gif


I also think a different name would be better. Devi, any ideas?

However, I am worried about legal issues with this mod. After all, you could say it's basically a free full version of M1 with some Demise stuff added.. Maybe it's best to ask Decklin for permission?

edit: Level 6 and 7 are finished. It would be great if the teleporters and chutes could be fixed. Devi, how do I send the maps to you? PM is disabled, but you can send me an email, see profile.

This post has been edited by grobblewobble: Jun 2 2010, 06:31 PM


--------------------
Fear the Society of the Psychic Tyco
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
devi77
post Jun 3 2010, 12:00 PM
Post #46


Drifter
**

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-March 10
From: Russia, Novyy Urengoy
Member No.: 6,237
referrer:google



"Mordor II v.0.98 full from Mordor community" or in short "Mordor II v.0.98 MC"- how about this? smile.gif
I just made possibility of 15 levels, and all Mordor community can make a maps smile.gif

Oh, and I asked Deklyn about this - waiting for a reply from him.

This post has been edited by devi77: Jun 3 2010, 12:05 PM


--------------------
I'm not a coder or hacker, i just love Mordor :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Danjen
post Jun 3 2010, 02:36 PM
Post #47


Veteran
********

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 1,467
Joined: 25-May 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,498
referrer:Decklin's Domain



As awesome as this is, I'm still waiting to see someone make content for the full 3d version. Just sayin' smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crashland
post Jun 3 2010, 10:22 PM
Post #48


Teacher
****

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 477
Joined: 23-September 08
From: My alien Homeworld
Member No.: 4,781
referrer:Yahoo search engine



Let it be known that I, Crashland, agree completely with the comment directly above mine.


--------------------
For some good reading, if you'd like to participate, or simply to pass the time, be sure to check out my challenge threads.

The Revolutionary Challenge
The Money Challenge

Can't wait to start a Mordor XP challenge.

QUOTE (DarkerMuffin @ Jun 16 2015, 05:54 AM) *
I stole Asmodeus's tax return!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crunch
post Jun 4 2010, 07:25 AM
Post #49


Explorer
***

Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 11-October 09
Member No.: 6,039
referrer:Google



QUOTE (devi77 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:00 PM) *
"Mordor II v.0.98 full from Mordor community" or in short "Mordor II v.0.98 MC"


What up yall, it's MC Grobble
He's so bad, it'll make you hobble
He drops massive levels, not some beats
so cast some spells for these wondrous feats!

>.>
<.<

Quietly backs away with the sound of crickets.

This post has been edited by Crunch: Jun 4 2010, 07:26 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grobblewobble
post Jun 4 2010, 08:54 AM
Post #50


Dungeon Master
******

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 890
Joined: 22-February 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 134
referrer:Slimey's site



blink.gif

QUOTE (devi77 @ Jun 3 2010, 02:00 PM) *
"Mordor II v.0.98 full from Mordor community" or in short "Mordor II v.0.98 MC"- how about this? smile.gif

It's your call, you're the creator. But imho this name is a bit long / hard to pronounce..

How about something shorter, like just "Mordor MC" or something like that?

I hope Decklin allows the project in the first place, we shall see.


--------------------
Fear the Society of the Psychic Tyco
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
npsuber
post Jun 5 2010, 04:30 AM
Post #51


Fighter
***

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 17-February 07
Member No.: 3,099
referrer:from slimey



Looks like the rescuers are limited to the demo floors. If you put in coordinates for any levels below 3, they will refuse, saying "Invalid Coordinates".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
devi77
post Jun 5 2010, 10:21 AM
Post #52


Drifter
**

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-March 10
From: Russia, Novyy Urengoy
Member No.: 6,237
referrer:google



QUOTE (npsuber @ Jun 5 2010, 08:30 AM) *
Looks like the rescuers are limited to the demo floors. If you put in coordinates for any levels below 3, they will refuse, saying "Invalid Coordinates".


I'll check this...


--------------------
I'm not a coder or hacker, i just love Mordor :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimothyXL
post Jun 5 2010, 01:40 PM
Post #53


Explorer
***

Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 22-December 07
From: Belgium, the noble country.
Member No.: 4,200
referrer:Google search



QUOTE (grobblewobble @ Jun 4 2010, 10:54 AM) *
blink.gif


It's your call, you're the creator. But imho this name is a bit long / hard to pronounce..

How about something shorter, like just "Mordor MC" or something like that?

I hope Decklin allows the project in the first place, we shall see.


Mordor MC? Mordor 2 MC seems less confusing. Maybe it's just me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
devi77
post Jun 6 2010, 10:32 AM
Post #54


Drifter
**

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-March 10
From: Russia, Novyy Urengoy
Member No.: 6,237
referrer:google



UPDATED: Teleports & Chutes now work
added 6&7 levels from grobblewobble (respect for good maps smile.gif ) with some edit, chute 21,34,3 now drop you in normal antimagic room 21,34,6

This post has been edited by devi77: Jun 6 2010, 10:40 AM


--------------------
I'm not a coder or hacker, i just love Mordor :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grobblewobble
post Jun 6 2010, 05:01 PM
Post #55


Dungeon Master
******

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 890
Joined: 22-February 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 134
referrer:Slimey's site



Great!

However, I have Karspersky installed and it seems to think the patch contains a virus. Now I trust you and after some research I concluded this has probably got to do with an anti-crack measure from Karspersky. Most other virus scanners do not recognize it as a virus. However, you may still want to do something about this..

You can find scanning results from various virus scanners by uploading a file to this webpage: http://www.virustotal.com

PS: I just noticed that area 220 on level 7 has a Black Gremlin lair. I'm not sure if this is because I made some mistake with monster assignments or if it is something that you added? In any case, I propose to replace it with a yellow or maybe green gremlin lair..

This post has been edited by grobblewobble: Jun 6 2010, 08:22 PM


--------------------
Fear the Society of the Psychic Tyco
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crunch
post Jun 6 2010, 10:32 PM
Post #56


Explorer
***

Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 11-October 09
Member No.: 6,039
referrer:Google



So what's the ideal way to update from the previous version? Simply replace the MDATA11 file with the one included in the patch?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grobblewobble
post Jun 7 2010, 07:04 AM
Post #57


Dungeon Master
******

Group: Mordor MP Prog
Posts: 890
Joined: 22-February 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 134
referrer:Slimey's site



You both need to replace the old Mdata11 with the new one and to run the new patch.

To be safe, you should also delete your current dungeon maps (mdata8.mdr). In fact, it would be better if the patch did that automatically. If you did not explore below level 5 yet it isn't really needed, but otherwise you could be left with an incorrect map.


--------------------
Fear the Society of the Psychic Tyco
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
devi77
post Jun 7 2010, 06:58 PM
Post #58


Drifter
**

Group: Members Plus
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-March 10
From: Russia, Novyy Urengoy
Member No.: 6,237
referrer:google



Patcher is not updated. Only map file was updated.

About "Kasper": it can see that patchfile can make changes with files, and i can only change soft for making patchfiles on other one, but don't see reason in that case

About "220": i don't changed anything with this


--------------------
I'm not a coder or hacker, i just love Mordor :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crunch
post Jun 7 2010, 11:49 PM
Post #59


Explorer
***

Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 11-October 09
Member No.: 6,039
referrer:Google



OK. I got teleported twice to level 5 (and died relatively quickly, go figure) and only just started exploring level 4. I'll backup the data files and just replace mdata11 and see what happens. Worst case scenario is that I re-replace Mdata11 and clear the dungeon map. I won't be finding out if things are messed up or not for a while anyway since I'm only just barely surviving level 4.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aardless
post Jun 9 2010, 09:58 PM
Post #60


Goblin Shaman at work (used to be: on strike...)
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 5,406
Joined: 27-September 04
From: Somewhere on level 3, staring at the light
Member No.: 18
referrer::yahoo:



I don't mean to rain on your parade but from a purely legal point of view I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to go around and edit the exe. sleep.gif But I'm following your prgress with interest. tongue.gif
Looking for the Avatar maps, not sure I have them on this computer. sad.gif

QUOTE (Danjen @ Jun 3 2010, 04:36 PM) *
As awesome as this is, I'm still waiting to see someone make content for the full 3d version. Just sayin' smile.gif

This has or is slowly becoming possible by purchasing pre-made assets, but you need to have the moolahs. It's not too expensive actually per model but hard to justify for a free game and you'd also have to investigate on the abilities of the game engine.


--------------------
If money doesn't grow on trees, why is it that banks have branches? - sig of a guy on a chinese forum

Most off-topic topics are off-topic - fart642000
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th July 2019 - 07:55 PM
Bridged By IpbWiki: Integration Of Invision Power Board and MediaWiki © GlobalSoft
Copyrights and Credits